more time more choices

Although life is very busy and a solid constant of running from point A to point B, I do feel like I have more time on my hands then I did when I was drinking and using.  during those times, I spent much of my life in a blackout or in bed recovering from a run.  Life didn’t have any life in it.

So what does one do with extra time.  One of my favorite things to do is to people watch.  To go out into the world, find a seat somewhere in the middle of Venice Beach, Ca or Central Park in NYC.  Depending on which coast I am on.  Both places have great faces and personalities to watch.  I can sit comfortably for hours just watching the show around me.  If I happen to have my camera, I will snap a few emotional moments to freeze in time.

Everyone uses their spare time differently.  Some people latch onto social media.  Facebook, twitter, Instagram, all become a means of free time entertainment.  Others use gaming to waste the hours.  Video games on portable devices like the Iphone and Ipad.  Or  online gaming like binguez  Some people enjoy gambling, while others enjoy free games like bingo, blackjack, skeeball, angry birds, etc.  Personally I have never really gotten into the time-wasting use of games. I don’t have enough patience for them.  I will indulge in words with friends on occasion, but my attention span is short-lived for such activities.

I love that I have more spare time now that I am sober.  Although life is very busy, it is great to be able to experience it now, in its loud times, and quiet times.  How I choose to spend the quiet times is a choice I didn’t have before sobriety, really.  Now I can go people watch.  Or troll Facebook, or take a nap, or play some games, or see friends, etc. should I choose.

Gonna go check out Facebook now…

LOL

url

Leave a Reply

